An Obligation to Serve

  Recently my wife was selected for jury duty. It’s something each of us as citizens have an obligation to serve when selected. Checking in each week to see if you need to report  seems like such a hassle doesn’t it?  You can’t schedule your service it’s out of your control and oh so inconvenient. I will be blunt and can only speak from previous experiences. Do you ever feel an inconvenient obligation to serve your Lord?  What was it at that time that caused you to feel that way? Any excuses pop into mind? I’m tired, I don’t want to cook today, I’ll miss the 12 o’clock kickoff, let someone else do it this time, I need to work and make more money, I don’t think anyone cares what I do, maybe next time, I’m saved it’s good enough.  The list is endless and is a sad reminder of our heart if we are dwelling on these thoughts.  In Psalm 32 David’s bones ached from weariness as God’s hand pressed him while his sin remained unspoken it still had an effect. When you lose the passion to serve, the joy of each day, the excitement of seeing God working is replaced by monotony, by a weary body aching to just lay there and do nothing,  by a life that is just getting by.  Who is your God?  I tell you He is the same as David’s God in Psalm 32. Turnover that which is holding you back in your heart, only you and God knows what that is and that which comes between you and God is sin.

 The psalmist confessed his sins and God forgave him.  The Lord was again his deliverer and hiding place as God preserved him. If these thoughts have been nagging you, God will do the same for you if you turn it over to Him.  Live in joy and Shout! Great is your God.


Psalm 32:10-11 ESV

Many are the sorrows of the wicked, but steadfast love surrounds the one who trusts in the Lord.  Be glad in the Lord, and rejoice, O righteous, and shout for joy, all you upright in heart!